Plants You Can Eat!

by Hannahspeltbackwards

In Spring I finally set up the bare garden bed in my little piece of garden with a Veggie Patch.  Eggplant, Capsicum, Cucumber, Beans, Basil, Spring Onion, Coriander, Oregano, and Vietnamese Mint are in the garden bed.  Chillies, Chives and more Oregano are in a tub.  I’ve lost a few basil seedlings, two radish sprouts and a couple of corianders thanks to birds that come and dig through the mulch each morning and evening.  They kick mulch onto the same struggling coriander every time!  Yesterday I just attached wire to the fence in the hope of training the cucumbers and beans to grow upwards.  My strawberry pot and a couple of cucumbers plants are already flowering so its looking good for a crop in the next few months.  The great thing about the rainy summer we’ve been having is that it suits my lazy gardening style, letting me water less.

