Cafe Lua First Time

by Hannahspeltbackwards

Café Lua is running an art competition inviting submissions on the theme “The First Time.” I got together with competition organiser Eff Pan to make this promotional film. I helped out with interviewing and cinematography and my favourite thing (not): approaching strangers to ask them to be on camera. But I mostly left that to Eff.  Takes me back to my radio vox pop days – oh the pain of rejection! The photo above is of a tiny coffee the baristas made while we were there. That cup was about the size of a 10c coin!

Now I just have to get started on my entry! I’m pretty excited about reenacting the first time I have in mind. (Stop it – it’s totally innocent.)

Competition details:
Entry is free and you can win up to $375 worth of art supplies vouchers and the top six artists will have their work exhibited in Café Lua for four weeks. Highly commended submissions will get to have their work featured exclusively in a slide show that will be playing on the Café Lua flat screen tv.

Entries must be A4 or smaller (including framing) and can be in the form of illustration, photography, typography… or pretty much any medium which can be hung onto the Café Lua art wall.

Send your visual response to art@cafelua.com by Tuesday November 15th and come along to the launch party at Café Lua on Friday December 2nd.

More info on Facebook.

