Hoarding Relics

by Hannahspeltbackwards


I recently did a massive comb through and cull of the belongings I had stored in my mother’s garage and decided to document many of the items that I managed to part with. In addition to the boxes that I remember storing there when I first moved out of home, my mother also kept a huge amount of my childhood mementos. Every exercise book from my schooling; every birthday card I’ve ever received! I’m grateful that nothing was thrown out that I could later regret, but it was an incredibly overwhelming job to sort through all of this. How do you decide which childhood drawing is more valuable than the next? What’s a reasonable amount to keep? How important are the physical left overs of my past really – especially if they’ve been packed away for all this time and I didn’t even know I still had half of these things anyway. On the plus side, I did find 200 dollars in old birthday cards! (Plus a couple of paper notes!)

I’ll be posting some of the things I rediscovered as I dug through the boxes. The “You’re Special” snow globe was a gift from mum that I had on my bedside table for years. Here are my broken Barbies and tea set.

There were also two boxes of my frog collection, so more frog pics will definitely pop up. Bathing beauty frogs, so ridiculous.

Midst my days of sorting, I found this Dumpster Project that felt familiar. “Forced to downsize into a smaller studio and reduce the amount of stuff he owns, artist Mac Premo converted the interior of a dumpster into a walk-in traveling exhibition of objects he has collected over the years.” His possessions aren’t quite so childish as mine and are lovingly arranged in a misleading jumble, which is actually quite organised. I love his use of a dumpster to display items he might have had to toss, and that his exhibition, like my photos, must have been a process of reassessment of the meaning and value of each object.

